The DRF Summer Newsletter 2024

June has seen the successful recruitment of two new interns for the David Miller Internship, who will be introduced here in this newsletter. We are now in the third year of the programme, and it is inspiring to witness its ongoing success. I am incredibly grateful to all those who are involved with the scheme. It is a very fitting tribute to both David Miller and Deborah Rogers. 

Gill Coleridge, Founder of the Deborah Rogers Foundation

Looking ahead

The David Miller Internship Programme runs 16 September to 25 October 2024 with placements at literary agencies and publishers, plus an invaluable visit to the Frankfurt Book Fair 2024. It culminates with a presentation to Trustees and a reception with partner firms kindly hosted by Faber on 24 October. We will once again be looking for help with accommodation.  

The DRF Writers Award will return in 2025: submissions will open in January.



David Miller Internship Programme

The search for this year’s interns began in April, in partnership with Creative Access. Bibi Hilton, Chief Executive of Creative Access commented:

‘Creative Access’ own data confirms that financial barriers hinder many from entering and thriving in the literary world, with over half (57%) of respondents to our recent survey citing financial barriers as a significant threat to their creative career progression. The top three reported financial barriers when applying to jobs were commuting costs, unaffordable living costs, and lacking funds for relocation. The DRF David Miller Internship Programme's provision of accommodation, travel costs, and a fully paid internship is not only groundbreaking but crucial. This initiative sets a new standard, broadening access to individuals from underrepresented groups in publishing, literary rights, and agenting. We're proud to be a vital partner in this initiative.’


Over 190 applicants were whittled down eventually to a shortlist of five who were interviewed at RCW Literary Agency in June. The winning interns will begin the programme on 16 September, after an induction with Creative Access, who are on hand to support with career development throughout the process. Thanks to all the companies who will be providing placements over the six-week period, including Penguin Random House, Faber, Profile Books, David Higham, Greyhound Literary, ILA, PEW Literary and Eccles Fisher. The scheme would be nothing without your enthusiastic support. 


Introducing the DMIP interns 2024

Lena Bruns 

Lena is a postgraduate student from Germany, currently seeing out her MA in International Publishing at City, University of London. She has a keen interest in promoting diversity and inclusivity in literature, with particular focus on the global aspects of the publishing industry.


Leanne Francis


Leanne Francis is a writer from Stockton-on-Tees who graduated with a first-class degree in English Literature and Creative Writing from Newcastle University. She has since been a writer for The Publishing Post, co-editing the first full issue celebrating Black History Month, and for Big Black Books. She was shortlisted for the Poets of Colour incubator programme in 2023.  



We are once again looking for potential hosts who can offer a room to an intern for the duration of the programme. We are very grateful to Sue and John Neeve who hosted one of our interns in 2023. Of the experience, Sue wrote: 

‘The arrangement was a great success as far as we were concerned ... We were very pleased to have the opportunity to participate in a small way in the internship programme and it was a particular delight to hear Wiggy and the other successful intern present at the Faber awards party.’


DRF Writers Award

The winner of the 2023 Writers Award, Neil Rollinson has sold his novel The Dead Don’t Bleed to Jonathan Cape. It will be published next year. 


‘Pemi Aguda’s short stories, Ghostroots, have just been published by Virago (UK)  and Norton (US) to great acclaim. ‘Pemi was the winner of the Writers Award in 2020 for her novel, The Suicide Mothers which will be published next year. The New York Times Book Review wrote ‘these stories herald the arrival of a major voice in speculative fiction’,  while Lauren Groff, author of The Vaster Wilds concluded ‘A wonderful collection …. an astonishing talent’.

The judges for the 2025 Writers Award have been confirmed. Our next newsletter will introduce the panel ahead of submissions opening in January.


The 2021 DRF Writers Award will open for submissions on 1st April 2021 and close on 1st July 2021. The next DRF David Miller Bursary will open for applications in late 2021.
The winner of the 2020 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is ‘Pemi Aguda for The Suicide Mothers, a work of fiction. Ian Rankin (Chair of the Judges) introduced the three shortlisted authors and then announced the winner who will receive the prize of £10,000.
Judges Ian Rankin OBE (Chair), Sarah Perry and Max Porter announce the shortlist for the 2020 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award. 3 are chosen out of 876 entries and a shortlist of 8.
The winner of the 2019 DRF David Miller Bursary, Prema Raj, has reported on her time spent at five different publishing companies, in Denmark, Italy, the UK and the USA.
The winner will be announced in mid-May 2020 and shortlisted writers will be contacted directly.
Submissions for the DRF 2020 Writers Award can be made between 1st June 2019 until 31st October 2019.
The winner of the inaugural Deborah Rogers Foundation Bursary Award is Prema Raj
The winner will be announced in February 2019. For more information about the DRF David Miller Bursary please visit the bursary page.
The Deborah Rogers Foundation announced that applications are now open for the second David Miller Bursary. Candidates have until 16th December to apply. Applications should be made via the website.
The winner of the 2018 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is Deepa Anappara for Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line, a work of fiction.