Deborah Rogers Foundation Announces Second DRF Writers Award (2018)

Deborah Rogers Foundation Announces Second DRF Writers Award (2018)

  • Submissions open from 1 October until 13 December 2017
  • Man Booker winner, Anne Enright, to chair the judges
  • Ponti, winner of the inaugural award, already sold in 8 countries

The board of the Deborah Rogers Foundation, set up in 2015 in memory of the universally loved and respected literary agent, Deborah Rogers, is delighted to announce that submissions for the second DRF Writers Award will open on 1 October 2017 and close on 13 December 2017.

The judges of the 2018 DRF Writers Award will be Anne Enright (Chair), Pete Hobbs and Jenny Uglow. They will announce their shortlist in April 2018 and the award will be presented in London on Wednesday 16 May.       

'Winning the Deborah Rogers Award was life-changing and provided me with the confidence and support to finish my novel. I feel unbelievably lucky and grateful for it.' - Sharlene Teo, the 2016 winner.

The 2018 DRF Writers Award

£10,000 will be presented to a first-time writer whose submission demonstrates outstanding literary talent and who needs financial support to complete their work:

  • Submissions should take the form of 20-30,000 words of a work in progress, fiction or non-fiction, which is not under option or contract.
  • Applicants may not be under contract to any publisher for any work or title.
  • Applications are only open to writers who have not previously published a full length book of their own prose writing (including self-published or published on-line) excluding a collection of their own poetry.  They may have published short prose writing within a magazine/anthology.
  • Entrants must write in the English language and reside within the British Commonwealth and Eire.
  • Submissions should be accompanied with a brief synopsis and biographical note.
  • Applicants who submitted work for the 2016 Writers Award may re-apply but the work submitted must be new.



Judges Ian Rankin OBE (Chair), Sarah Perry and Max Porter announce the shortlist for the 2020 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award. 3 are chosen out of 876 entries and a shortlist of 8.
The winner of the 2019 DRF David Miller Bursary, Prema Raj, has reported on her time spent at five different publishing companies, in Denmark, Italy, the UK and the USA.
The winner will be announced in mid-May 2020 and shortlisted writers will be contacted directly.
Submissions for the DRF 2020 Writers Award can be made between 1st June 2019 until 31st October 2019.
The winner of the inaugural Deborah Rogers Foundation Bursary Award is Prema Raj
The winner will be announced in February 2019. For more information about the DRF David Miller Bursary please visit the bursary page.
The Deborah Rogers Foundation announced that applications are now open for the second David Miller Bursary. Candidates have until 16th December to apply. Applications should be made via the website.
The winner of the 2018 Deborah Rogers Foundation Writers Award is Deepa Anappara for Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line, a work of fiction.
Judges Anne Enright, Pete Hobbs and Jenny Uglow announce the shortlist for the 2018 £10,000 DRF Award. Three are chosen out of 752 entries. Winner to be announced on 16th May at Award ceremony in London
We are delighted that the winner of the inaugural Writers Award, Sharlene Teo’s debut novel, Ponti, will be published by Picador in the UK in April 2018 and by Simon & Schuster in the US in September 2018. It is currently sold in seven other languages.